Photography

Portraits of Bree

I am 35 today! I am spending the day alone, not by choice. It is raining outside so the air in Addis Ababa is fresh. I never imagined my life would be like this at 35, I guess no one does. I am not one of those women terrified of getting older. I will admit, I would like the skin and metabolism I had 15 years ago. I am a struggling writer (who isn’t I hear you say ha ha!). I moved from my mother’s house to my husband’s and have felt lost since when I last had a full-time job 5 years ago so this birthday is a reflective one for me. But, as my sister Sam whatsapped me one day ‘Not all who wander are lost’. And this year may hold some suprises still as I pursue a course of study. I have learned from the great, deliciously complex women I grew up with – my mum and three sisters, on whom I lean on through life’s twists and turns, that you have to keep reinventing.
‘Life owes you nothing’ my sister Michelle (aka the consigliere & motivational speaker) loves to say. I find great joy in taking photos, I am not very good but I like it. Here are a few things which I now share with you.

2 thoughts on “Portraits of Bree

  1. You are maturing as a good wine and I have no doubt that you got what one needs to reinvent yourself all the time. Not only getting older but wiser 🙂 Love you.

    Like

Leave a Reply

