Guest post

Why I design by Mohammed Nassar

To quote designer Richard Seymour’s words a few years ago design is ‘making things better for people’.

The British Design Council best defined the role of design when they wrote:

‘Design is everywhere. It’s what drew you to the last piece of furniture you bought and it’s what made online banking possible. It’s made London taxi cabs easier to get in and out of and it made Stella McCartney’s name. It’s driving whole business cultures and making sure environments from hospitals to airports are easier to navigate.’

I always wanted to design, to add something to this world. I am excited by the idea of combining mathematical shapes with modern colors because most of everything around us is grey while the sound human eye can perceive about 17000 different colours.

I think that shapes and colours are universal. I usually add quotes to some of my work because they motivate me to carry on and keep fighting for my dream and I believe it can provide inspiration to anyone.

I am 27-years-old. I come from Jinsafut, a Palestinian village in the West Bank. Jinsafut has a population of no more than 2500 inhabitants all of whom cannot get very far due to mobility restrictions and socio-political barriers. I completed my five-year Architecture studies at Birzeit University a couple of years ago.

During the last 18 months, I sent over 1400 emails all over the world trying to get a job or an internship with no success. So I want to pursue a Master’s degree in Design in Paris. My big dream is to build the first ever School of Design in Palestine.

But I am starting small with the goal of completing the Master’s degree. To raise funds for this goal, seven months ago I started designing products for sale. I also quickly became obsessed with the idea of crowdfunding after the success of musician Amanda Palmer who successfully raised funds on Kickstarter.

It was the first time I began to believe the possibilities of crowdfunding and that it can break the circle of bankers and investors as gatekeepers of financing. But Palestine is one of the countries Kickstarter is not open to. But I found another platform and whilst I have seen movement of this quest from backers and friends, mostly, internationally (because the percentage of people with access to the internet in the Middle East is still small) I have a way to go.

So, spread the word and help out as my deadline draws to a close .

I just want to participate in creating a better future.

Follow my design blog

One thought on “Why I design by Mohammed Nassar

Leave a Reply

